I get so confused about the horse world some times

I seem to have this never ending internal conflict about my relationship with horses. For some reason, despite how much I love them, no matter what distance I put between me and them and no matter what role they play in my life I can’t seem to get rid of this nagging guilt I feel for wanting them to be in my life.

There doesn’t seem to be a right answer to the question of “what is the right thing for me to do?”

Here’s my dilema. I want to breed horses. I have bred in the past. I have some great mares. I have access to some great stallions. 

I feel guilty for wanting to bring more horses into the world when there are already too many to begin with. I’ve tried to rationalize it.  On one hand I’m improving the existing stock. I’m living my passion and my dream.  On the other hand I may just be feeding the ills of a broken system.

Then theres the question of whether I am being selfish for wanting to live a dream that feels like an icon of privilege  class and power.

Oh the archetype of the horse.  you reach every corner…

One thought on “I get so confused about the horse world some times

  1. Pingback: I can’t seem to get rid of this nagging guilt I feel for wanting them to be in my life – Wants

Leave a comment